Buah Keluak

Buah Keluak - image taken from eatingasia.typepad.com

Buah Keluak - image taken from eatingasia.typepad.com

“Buah keluak” is a black nut originating from Indonesia, more famously known for the wonderful aroma in one of the Peranakan‘s most famous dishes – the ayam buah keluak.

Peranakan Chicken with Buah Keluak - image taken from umami.typepad.com

Peranakan Chicken with Buah Keluak - image taken from umami.typepad.com

It is a dish that requires arduous work, from soaking the nuts, to cracking it open, grinding it into a paste and stuffing it back into the shell, then stewing and slow-cooking the meat until it is fall-off-the-bone tender. It is a labour of love for the ones you cook it for.

The dish, like durian although much milder and less of a shocker to unsuspecting tastebuds, is also an acquired taste; some find it aromatic, others pungent, and there’s those who sit on the fence. I fall into the category of those who “like it”, and I like it very much.

The Jman’s grand-aunt in Singapore makes a fantastic rendition of it, and I had the pleasure of having a little bowl to myself during my trip back to Singapore in December.

I’m now trying to find the nut in Melbourne in the hopes that I can get the Jman’s grandma to teach me how to make this dish, since she herself is a true-blue Nyonya (who makes a real kickass beef rendang, if I may add). Now that leaves me to beg the question: does anyone know where I can find buah keluak in Melbourne?

12 Responses to “Buah Keluak”

  1. just tried mix at clayton
    unfortunately they were out and next shipment will be in a month’s time

  2. The Pseudo Epicurean Says:

    Thanks for the heads up, Raymond! I’ll definitely be there to check them out! I wonder if Laguna in the city would stock any since it’s an Indonesian supermarket as well. I’ll be checking that out too.

  3. Hi! I’m in Melbourne too and have to looking high and low for buah kelauk. Haven’t cooked this in ages since I left Singapore. Do tell me if you managed to find it and where I can buy it too!

    Cheers,
    Gerald

    • The Pseudo Epicurean Says:

      Hi Gerald, I’m sorry I took this long to reply.

      I’ve not seen the nut in itself but I have seen a packet of pre-packed buah keluak paste under the guise of “buah kluwak” at the Asian grocers in QV (Laguna). You can check it out there. Otherwise you could try “Mix” at Clayton as recommended by raymond in his comment above. Good luck!

  4. Hi I am also in Melbourne and have been trying to get my hands on them for a long time….

    Please if anyone of you do find them let me know…..

  5. [...] it’s edible, someone has probably blogged about it, and the obscure butter Indonesian nut, Bua Kuleak (also spelled Buah Keluak) is no [...]

  6. Does anyone know where we can find it in Perth?

  7. I’ve heard that it’s available in Footscray.

  8. Reignite this post. Has anyone found the nut yet? I’m on a mission to cook this dish soon.

  9. Buak kluwak is a delicious to cook meat or chicken but you must cook careully because if too much the taste will not delicious

  10. hi. where can I get buah keluak? I went to Mix in Clayton. Cant find it

  11. I truly love your site.. Pleasant colors & theme.
    Did you build this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my very own website and would like to learn where you got this from or what the theme is named. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

