Soul Food

Breakfast at Ya Kun

The best things in life don’t come easy, but it doesn’t mean that they don’t come cheap.

In this case where soul food is concerned, a classic Ya Kun kopitiam breakfast of kaya toast, kopi (meaning coffee) and soft-boiled eggs takes the cake and it is only in recent times that I’ve become increasingly fond of that aspect of my Singaporean roots.

During my recent trip back home, one of my best mornings was spent at the Ya Kun outlet in Holland Village enjoying the aforementioned feast – just me and my morning paper, and it cost a mere $3.50 for the works of toast, coffee and eggs.

I was in between errands and decided to walk around the corner to enjoy a facial afterward on one of the occasions, and on another (actually, it was just the day after), I popped by for a foot massage.

If this is the life of a lady-of-leisure-on-a-shoestring-budget (after all I could very well do without those preppy tea parties), you’d find me back home in a heartbeat.

p/s. I like my toast without the butter – just a thin spread of kaya is enough to make me happy.

2 Responses to “Soul Food”

  1. tummyrumbles Says:

    I absolutely looooove kaya toast, soft boiled eggs (in a bowl) and coffee. Mmm…

    I wish someone here would do bread like that..

  2. The Pseudo Epicurean Says:

    Me too. Maybe I should convince the ya kun boss to set up a stall here 🙂

Leave a Reply

