Food Is The Best Medicine

Nigella's Chocolate Espresso Cake

Nigella's Chocolate Espresso Cake

For today, I am The Sick Epicurean, quite literally. After declaring on Sunday that I had been bug-free for 2 months (to which the Jman had warned me not to jinx myself), I finally succumbed to the nasty weather fluctuations and actually fell ill. Who’d have thunk?

I spent the whole day in bed nursing a sore throat, fever and a headache until I was sick of being in bed. So instead of moping around and feeling miserable, I decided to get my blood pumping by driving myself down to the supermarket and take a walk around in the comforts of the air-conditioned aisles.

By the time I got home, I was feeling a little psyched up to cook. Supermarketing has that effect on me. So without thinking twice, I pulled out a cake mixer, pots, pans and went full on head-down-bum-up into cooking. I made a crema di funghi (cream of mushroom soup) and a spaghetti al funghi for dinner, and a Nigella chocolate-espresso cake for dessert.

I’ll post up the recipes later but for now, all I can say is that all the kitchen activity made me feel heaps better. The fever’s broken and the headache has magically disappeared. Talk about food for the soul!

One Response to “Food Is The Best Medicine”

  1. I like reading a post that can make men and women think.
    Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

Leave a Reply

