Mean Mexican Minestrone

That’s just a fancy way of saying “minestrone with paprika”.

After all that greasy food I had yesterday (Maccas for breakfast; Smith’s sweet chilli thins for lunch; awesome Chinese food at Springvale), I was craving some clean, wholesome meals today. So off I went to the supermarket and picked up a basket full of vegetables. I didn’t really know what I was going to cook; all I knew was that I wanted something very tasty, and vegetable soup seemed to fit the bill.

I got a tin of organic beans, organic corn, carrots, a yellow capsicum (I was attracted to the colour more than anything else). I had some leftover celery, mushrooms and onions. I also picked up a tin of tomato paste.

In went everything into the pot, blink your eyes, and you get some loooovely minestrone. At the last minute, I sprinkled a dash of lovely smoked paprika into the brew and boy, did that add a whole new dimension to the soup! It was tangy, sour, salty, smokey…mmm. I don’t think the Italians would be very happy with me though.

Mean Mexican Minestrone (serves 2)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 a 400g can of organic beans (I used a 4-bean mix)
  • 100g organic corn
  • 1/2 carrot, diced
  • 1 celery stick, diced
  • 1/2 medium-sized red onion, diced
  • 2 large portobello mushroom, diced
  • 1 baby zucchini, diced
  • 1/2 yellow capsicum, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, bruised
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/2 a small tin of tomato paste (or to taste)
  • Salt + black pepper to taste
  • A dash of red wine vinegar (to taste, if you don’t find it tangy enough – I like my really tangy)
  • A dash of Spanish smoked paprika

Method

  1. Heat oil in a pot.
  2. Toss in the onions and garlic, fry till onion is slightly browned and fragrant.
  3. Add in the celery and carrots, fry for 1 minute.
  4. Then add in mushrooms and capsicum, fry for another minute.
  5. Add the tomato paste and stir until all the vegetables are evenly coated.
  6. Add in 3L of water and bring to a boil.
  7. At this stage, add in the zucchini and corn.
  8. Season to taste.

Bon appétit

Leave a Reply

